What Is The Difference Between Archive And Delete?

Do archived messages take up space?

2 Answers.

Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota.

Even messages in the trash and spam are counted.

The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account..

How long do emails stay in archive?

The default period for your Draft and Inbox items is six months, and three months for your Sent Items, but you can change these periods using the Clean out items older than option. Archive or delete old items You must choose this option if you want AutoArchive to delete some or all items when they expire.

Does deleting emails free up space?

Emails can take up tons of space on your Android operating system. If you keep thousands — or even hundreds — of emails around, then it’s time that you clear a significant amount of space by deleting these emails in Gmail.

Does archiving save space in Google Photos?

Archiving photos does nothing to conserve or otherwise free up your storage space. All that does is removes the selected pictures from your main photo timeline. Only pictures that are uploaded as Original Quality will count against your storage space.

Does Outlook Archive Delete?

Whether you delete or archive an email message, it disappears from your inbox. A deleted message goes into the trash folder, whereas an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or “All Mail” on Gmail / Google Apps.

Is archive and delete the same thing?

The Gmail app for Android gives its users two choices for discarding a new message: archive or delete. The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function.

Do archived emails get deleted?

Archiving email keeps the messages in an Archived folder, but Deleting moves them to the trash.

How do I delete instead of archive?

Choose your archive or delete settingsOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app .In the top left, tap Menu .Tap Settings General settings. Gmail default action.Tap Archive or Delete. … Scroll down to the “Action confirmations” section and choose if you want confirmation before archiving or deleting messages.

What is the point of archiving emails?

The point of archiving is to give you a central location to store mails that you no longer need direct access to. It also ensures your inbox is kept clean and attachments and other files are kept safe.

What happens to Gmail archive?

Archive or mute Gmail messages. If you want to clean up your inbox without deleting your emails, you can archive or mute them. Your emails are moved to a label called “All Mail.” When you archive a message: The message will come back to your inbox when someone replies to it.

How do I retrieve archived emails?

Finding archived emails via mobile apps If you are using the Gmail mobile app on your iOS or Android device, you can also access archived content easily. As on the web, you can use the search bar displayed above your mail to initiate a search; it will include archived content.

Why do my archived emails disappear?

The AutoArchive feature in Outlook automatically sends old messages to the Archive folder, which can make it seem like those messages have disappeared to the unsuspecting user. … This will keep your emails from being archived unexpectedly or too often.